Colorado Teen Driving Laws and Enforcement

Under Colorado’s Graduated Driver Licensing program, a number of restrictions on teen driving apply. Drivers under the age of 18, who have not had a driver’s license for more than six months, cannot transport passengers under the age of 21. The only exceptions to this rule are in the cases of emergencies and if the passengers are siblings. In addition, drivers under the age of 18

•    Cannot have more than one passenger under the age of 21 in the car at a time until the driver holds a valid driver’s license for one full year
•    Cannot have more than one passenger in the front seat
•    Cannot have more passengers in the car than seatbelts
•    Cannot drive between the hours of 12 a.m. and 5 a.m. unless the driver’s license has been effective for one full year

A driver under the age of 18 may drive between the hours of 12 a.m. and 5 a.m. if accompanied by apparent or guardian. He may also driver between these hours unaccompanied if, according to E Orum Personal Injury Law:

•    He is driving from school or a school-authorized activity
•    There is a medical emergency
•    He is driving to or from work with a signed statement from the employer
•    The driver is emancipated

All teen drivers must carry proof of insurance at all times, obey all traffic laws, and should not drink and drive, ever. 

If the driver violates any of the above restrictions he will lose his license for a set amount of time to be determined by the courts. He will also have to perform community service, pay fines, lose points on his license, and insurance carriers will choose not to cover you, which means, you will not be allowed to drive on Colorado roads, period. 

Colorado Cell Phone Use/Texting While Driving Laws

The state of Colorado passed a new cell phone law in 2009. House Bill 1094 prohibits teens under the age of 18 from using a cell phone while operating a motor vehicle. Teens and young adults over the age of 18, but under the age of 21 are allowed to use a cell phone equipped with a hands-free accessory. Violation of Colorado’s cell phone law will result in a class A traffic violation. For a first offense, you will have to pay a $50 fine, plus a $6 surcharge. For a second offense, you will have to pay a $100 fine and $6 surcharge. 

It is important to note that teen driver’s that are driving with an instruction permit of any kind are prohibited from using any type of mobile communication device. You cannot text message or use a hands-free accessory – no matter how old you are. 

Colorado Teen DUI Laws


In the state of Colorado, it is a crime for a teen to operate a motor vehicle with a blood alcohol concentration level (BAC) of 0.02% or higher. A BAC of 0.02% is as little as one beer, one glass of wine or one mixed drink for most people. It can be even less for some. Proof of a BAC of 0.02% is all that is needed to convict a Colorado teen of DUI. If you get caught driving with a BAC of 0.02-0.05%, your license will be revoked on the spot for a minimum of 30 days, followed by a suspension period of 60 days for a total of 90 days. If your BAC is over 0.05% and less that 0.08%, your license will be revoked on the spot for 90 days.  Second time offenders will lose their licenses for 120 days and third time offenders will lose their licenses for a full year. In addition to losing your license, you may have to pay fines ranging from $300 up to $1,5000, perform 56-120 hours of community service, and you could also spend time in a juvenile detention center – especially for multiple offenses. 

Colorado Teen Auto Insurance Requirements

In the state of Colorado, your teen auto insurance policy must include minimum liability coverage of 25/50/15. This is equal to $25,000 per person for bodily injury, $50,000 per accident for bodily injury, and $15,000 per accident for property damage. Because of the increased accident risk during a teen’s first year behind the wheel, and because Colorado is no longer a No-Fault state, Colorado insurance companies will recommend that driver’s consider carrying significantly higher coverages than the state minimums. If you plan to add a teen driver to your policy, keep in mind that your annual rate will increase anywhere from $1,200 to $4,900 a year – or an average of $2,171 a year.

Colorado (CO) Teen Auto Insurance Laws, Rates & Requirements

The state of Colorado, the driving laws are tough on teens. As a result, between 2003-2008, the number of teen deaths from auto accidents has dropped by 44%. Unfortunately, in 2004, 80% of all teen passengers that died in car accidents, died while another teen was behind the wheel. Colorado continues to enhance its teen driving laws in a effort to reduce the number of fatal teen auto accidents even more. Not only does Colorado have an effective Graduated Licensing program in place, it also has drunk driving laws that prosecute parents of teens that get caught drinking and driving. Under Colorado’s “Social Host” law, the parent or “host” could be charged with a class 1 misdemeanor. Continue reading to learn more about Colorado’s teen driving laws and the consequences for violating them. 

Colorado Graduated Driver Licensing (GDL) and Driver License Requirements

In the state of Colorado, under the state’s Graduated Driver Licensing laws, teens are eligible for an instruction permit at the age of 15, if he is participating in a state-approved driver’s education program. He must also complete at least 6 hours of behind-the-wheel training. Teen’s age 151/2 may obtain an instruction permit after completing at least a 4-hour driver awareness course. If the teen is 16, he may obtain an instruction permit without a driver’s education program or driver awareness course. All teen drivers under the age of 18 must provide a signed affidavit from the parent or legal guardian to receive a instruction permit. 

To obtain a driver’s license, you must: 

•    Hold an instruction permit for at least 12 months
•    Have a minimum of 50 hours of behind-the-wheel, supervised driving time, to include 10 hours of nighttime driving
•    Have a clean driving record. Cell phone infractions will not be tolerated

To apply for a Colorado driver’s license you must provide any of the following documentation to the Colorado Department of Motor Vehicles to prove full legal name, age, and lawful presence in the United States:

•    Social Security Card
•    U.S. Birth Certificate
•   Colorado Employment Lawyers
•    Certificate of Citizenship
•    Military ID
•    VA Card w/photo
•    Colorado Department of Corrections or Federal Bureau of Prison ID card

A Christmas Miracle: Reformed Thief Returns Stolen Camera

As we near the Christmas holiday, it seems appropriate to take a break from our regular discussion of DUI, fraud, assault, and other criminal defense news and to report on something a little more nice list-appropriate. Earlier this week, a Missouri woman received an unexpected gift: the camera that had been stolen out of her car three years earlier, with the photos of a special trip still on the memory card. Grateful for the return of her camera and, more importantly, her photographs, the woman has promised to protect the identities of the likely thieves, who seemingly forgot to delete a few pictures of their own before returning the camera.

In 2007, Mary Sudekum and her mother had just returned from an eight-day trip through Europe, visiting London, Paris and Brussels, with a group of students from Maryville University where Mary was a nursing student. Two days after their return, and with 300 photos on her digital camera, someone broke into Mary’s car, which was on her parents’ Frontenac driveway, and stole her camera.

Mary was, of course, upset about the theft of the camera, but she says she was most saddened about the loss of the photos of her trip with her mother. Three years went by, and on Wednesday morning, Mary received a telephone call from her father. “Remember that camera stolen from your car?” he asked. “Well, we have it.”

The alleged thief had placed the camera in Mary’s parents’ mailbox, along with a note apologizing for the crime. “This was taken a while ago when I was hanging out with the wrong people,” the note said. “I am truly sorry.” As Mary flipped through the photos of her trip, which were miraculously still on the camera’s memory card, she saw a few photos that she did not recognize. Mary believes that the photos are of the thieves or their friends, and although they are clear enough for identification, she does not intend to show them to the police.

“I don’t want to penalize somebody for doing the wrong thing. They were kids and they grew up a little and realized what they’d done. A lot of people wouldn’t have returned it,” she said. “I’m in shock to have these pictures back. It’s a perfect Christmas present.”

You may not be so lucky. Contact these experienced Orlando criminal defense lawyers for a free case evaluation.

Prom Season Prompts Crackdown on Teen Drinking in North Carolina

With the prom season rapidly approaching, police in North Carolina are planning a crackdown on underage drinking. They will be increasing enforcement efforts which means more kids can be cited for minor consumption of alcohol. Statistics demonstrate that approximately two out of five car accidents that take place on prom night involve the consumption of alcohol. While the focus will be on preventing drunk driving, other students who are not driving may be cited as well.

Motor vehicle traffic on high school prom nights will be closely monitored by the North Carolina Highway Patrol, the Orange County Sheriff’s Department, and many local police departments, including those in Hillsborough, Chapel Hill, and Carrboro. They will also attempt to keep an eye on alcohol providers in order to minimize the availability of alcohol to underage drivers.

Drivers under 21 are subject to losing their driving privileges if they have consumed any alcohol at all–legal intoxication is not required. A recent spot check of adult alcohol providers in Orange County revealed that seven out of 40 businesses had sold liquor to underage purchasers. In some cases, they simply failed to adequately scrutinize identification presented by purchasers which may have been bogus or borrowed. Such practices make alcohol all too readily available to teenagers.

Teenagers make mistakes based on their age and lack of experience and maturity. While few would say that it is appropriate to drink when underage, kids are known to make mistakes. Increased patrols, spot checks, and roadblocks will inevitably result in more young people being cited for underage drinking. In some cases, they may also face charges for DUI as well. Parents confronted with this reality may want to obtain legal assistance for their sons and daughters to protect their futures and make sure that one youthful mistake does not ruin their lives. If you or a loved one is caught up in a circumstance involving drinking and driving, it may be in your best interests to contact the finest Baltimore DUI Lawyers out there.

New Jersey Company Sued Because of Two Construction Accidents

As the seasons change and the weather gets warmer, it is likely that people will begin to see more construction sites appearing on the side of roads and buildings. Construction sites are often dangerous both for workers and passersby. And although there are state and federal safety regulations for construction sites, accidents still occur.

Just recently, two New Jersey men filed a lawsuit against a New Jersey subcontractor company for injuries they sustained in a construction accident two years ago. Though the two men were not injured in the same accident, they both allege that the subcontractor, as well as the building contractor and a country club, did not provide safe working conditions according to federal safety standards.

The two accidents occurred within days of each other. The first accident occurred when a worker fell from the roof of a townhouse where he was working. As a result, the worker sustained severe injuries that will affect him for the rest of his life.

The second incident occurred several days later when another worker was injured. He had been removing a window when the scaffolding he was standing on collapsed. His injuries are not disclosed in the article.

The two workers allege that overall, the companies:

    • Failed to comply with local building regulations
    • Failed to provide adequate supervising
  • Failed to provide equipment in compliance with safety standards

The Occupational Safety and Health Administration has already investigated the incidents and issued citations to the subcontractor. But to fight for financial compensation for their injuries, the two workers filed the lawsuit. If you find yourself in a similar instance, it is most likely in your best interest to speak to workers compensation attorneys in Philadelphia.

Car accident leaves one dead; driver charged

When someone you love dies, it can be a very difficult experience. However, when a loved one suffers a wrongful death because of someone else’s negligence, it can leave family and friends feeling devastated and alone.

Wrongful deaths happen all too frequently. Often, they come as the result of a car accident. When drivers speed, talk on a cell phone or text while driving, they put others in serious danger. In a recent case, the Pittsburgh Post-Gazette reported that a woman was killed Tuesday in a tragic car accident.

The 24-year-old woman was thrown from the vehicle she was riding in when it ran off the road and crashed into a concrete post. The woman was pronounced dead at the scene.

Police say there were two other people in the car at the time of the crash. Both were reportedly taken to a nearby hospital to be treated for injuries.

The cause of the crash is not clear at this time.

The 21-year-old man who was driving the car has been charged with vehicular homicide and being involved in a fatal accident without a license. Both charges are felonies. Police also issued citations to the man for careless driving, driving at an unsafe speed and not having a license. He is being held in jail and his bond was set at $5,000. The preliminary hearing is scheduled for Monday.

This car accident illustrates the serious consequences of negligent driving. Now, the young woman’s family and friends will be forced to cope with her tragic death. 

 Accidents like these can happen anywhere. If you’ve been involved in a car accident in Louisiana, don’t delay speaking to the best personal injury attorney in Baton Rouge.

Doing Business: Important Steps Immediately After a Sale

The Contract of Sale (Purchase Agreement) becomes valid when, and only when, it is fully executed by you and the seller. In the average case, you, the buyer, will sign the Contract of Sale (Purchase Agreement) first, but it becomes a valid “contract” only on the date that it is counter-signed by the seller or sellers. This date is important because it starts the clock running on several items, such as the time for you, as buyer, to obtain approval for a mortgage loan. 

In fact, after both you and the seller sign the Contract of Sale (Purchase Agreement), there are three items that must be addressed immediately: 

(1) Termite Inspection – There should be a provision in the Contract of Sale (Purchase Agreement) permitting you, as buyer, a certain period of time – usually two weeks or less – within which to have the house inspected for wood-destroying insects. As Chapter 7 urges, have the termite inspection done because it is important. Do not play cheapskate at this point in the game. It’s akin to checking under the hood before buying a used car.

(2) Mortgage Application – Although it is highly recommended that you start applying for a mortgage loan before you find a suitable house, if you have not already done so, this would be the time to begin the process. If you intend to finance the purchase of the house with a mortgage loan, you or your attorney should have had a mortgage contingency clause drawn into the Contract of Sale (Purchase Agreement). This means that the sale of the house to you depends upon you obtaining a loan for a specific amount and within a specific time. All these “specifics” should be put into the Contract of Sale (Purchase Agreement). Chapter 8 outlines today’s typical mortgage application process.

(3) Ordering a Title Report – If you have an attorney, your attorney will be very familiar with this step and will be able to order a title report for you from a company she knows and trusts. If the termite inspection and mortgage application steps seem self-explanatory, this title report business may seem a bit sketchy to the inexperienced buyer. It’s really less complicated than you may think. The goal of buying a house is to acquire a measured-off piece of property from the seller, free of judgments, liens and other interests of third parties. The purpose of the title report is to make sure that the seller is really the owner of the property, that he or she has the right to transfer the property, that the property to be transferred is exactly the property that both parties mean to be transferred and that the property is being transferred free and clear of judgments, liens and other interests that a third party may have against the property. More on the title report can be found in Chapter 9. There usually is no contractual time constraint on obtaining a title report. However, a lender will not loan you money for your purchase until it has a chance to review and approve what it finds in the title report. Hint-Hint. 

With many moving pieces involved in nearly every new business venture, it can be monetarily beneficial to speak with your Milwaukee Business Formation Lawyer.

Sober Drivers Stopped for DUI: How Often?

We occasionally note in our blogs what we regard as a critically important balance in a democratic society, namely, this: the tempering of the state’s power to stop, question and arrest members of the public with an individual’s legal right to be treated with fundamental fairness in his or her interactions with law enforcement officials.

As we have previously noted, this is certainly true in the realm of Bellingham DUI-related charges and drunk driving arrests. In this area of law, due process concerns are always present; additionally, they are sometimes magnified by factors such as machine and equipment failures (e.g., see our September 27 blog on the Washington State Crime Lab) and other problems that are simply inherent in the system and that can work to compromise a just result.

Take the case of a Texas man and his recent experience, for example – a story that is hardly news to defense attorneys and that occurs with varying twists across the country with regularity.

David Hammock – a Dallas resident – was stopped recently by a police officer who saw him hit a curb. Hammock was 100 percent sober at the time and told the officer that, but the officer asked him to perform a battery of sobriety tests. Hammock says that the stop unnerved him; he failed the tests. He says that being tall and uncoordinated didn’t help.

He was subsequently patted down, cuffed and taken to jail, where he spent several hours. The breath test he took there came back with a 0.00 reading, and he was released – after he paid to get his impounded car back with the help of a Tucson car accident attorney.

How typical is this? Bellingham DUI attorneys say it happens frequently, because investigatory tools – such as sobriety tests – are far from infallible.

Hammock was obviously happy to leave the jail. “The officer said I blew a 0.00 and I thought hallelujah,” he said.

Child Support and News Radio

Child support is something that affects many people across the United States as well as in Colorado. It can often come as a result of a divorce or the separation of unmarried parents. For people who receive child support, that extra money can mean the difference between being able to provide for their children and not being able to. When one spouse doesn’t pay the amount that was determined, as in the following story, it can be frustrating and the children may suffer because of it.

A comedy star who got his start in “The Kids in the Hall,” a Canadian comedy series that formed in the ’80s, has reported that he could be arrested for not paying child support if he returns to his native Canada.

David Foley claims he has been ordered to pay child support that amounts to 400 percent of his income. In a recent interview, Foley said he would happily pay half of his income, but he can’t afford current payments.

The comedian has two teenage children with his first wife, whom he divorced in 1997. Foley and his second wife had a daughter as well. They divorced in 2008.

In 2007, Foley tried to have his support payments modified, saying he could not find a steady job. The judge, however, denied his request.

After staring on “The Kids in the Hall,” Foley had roles on “News Radio,” the Pixar movie “A Bug’s Life” and a guest role on the television series “Desperate Housewives.” He has also received interest from CBS to star in a new television series.

In situations like this, multiple children are dependent on child support payments. It is the parent’s responsibility to provide his or her children with the support they need. Contact the best accident lawyer in Oregon to handle cases like these.

When do I get arrested?

When are you under arrest?
You are arrested when law enforcement officers take you into custody or otherwise deprive you of your freedom of movement in any significant way, in order to hold you to answer for a criminal offense. Police officers, under Florida law, are obligated to identify themselves and to advise you that you are under arrest and why, unless circumstances make it impossible for them to do so at that time. You may, in fact, be under arrest even though no one has actually used the word “arrest” or any other comparable word. The fact that you have been deprived of your freedom of movement in some significant manner may amount legally to an arrest.

Ordinarily, private citizens do not have power of arrest in New York; but under limited circumstances a private party may make an arrest where an actual commission of a felony is involved. Contact an Naples car accident law firm immediately after your arrest.